webinar register page

Webinar banner
A Thousand Cuts: On Media, Policing, and Authoritarian Brutality
A Thousand Cuts: Media Freedom and Authoritarian Brutality
Thursday, October 1st
8pm EDT (5pm PDT) (8am Philippines, Friday, October 2)

Following an online screening of Ramona Diaz’s film A Thousand Cuts (2020), please join us for a panel featuring Maria Ressa (Rappler), Jinee Lokaneeta (Drew University), Gina Dent (UCSC), moderated by Neferti Tadiar (Barnard College). A Thousand Cuts focuses on the current effects of Rodrigo Duterte’s infamous “war on drugs” and the shutting down of independent news outlets as well as the arrest, detention, threats and humiliation of journalists, including Maria Ressa. This post-screening panel focuses on policing, state violence, and how the media and ideological landscapes enable populism and authoritarianism across the Philippines, U.S. and India. The discussion also serves as the staging ground for transnational forms of creativity, solidarity, and resistance.

Oct 1, 2020 08:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: SEAP Cornell.